Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

South Dakota DOT names 12 winners of snowplow naming contest

SDDOT plow name winners.jpg
South Dakota Department of Transportation
Winners of the 2022-23 South Dakota DOT snowplow naming contest.

The South Dakota Department of Transportation has announced winners of its snowplow naming contest.

Each year, individuals, students, businesses, and organizations submit clever name ideas for plows. There are 12 winners – one for each DOT district.

The state received more than 650 submissions this year, according to a press release. DOT staff voted on the winners.

This year's winners include:

Aberdeen Area: Luke Ice Walker
Belle Fourche Area: Catch My Drift
Custer Area: Black Hills Cold Rush
Huron Area: Thawsome
Mitchell Area: Sleetwood Mac
Mobridge Area: Snow Force One
Pierre Area: Little Plow on the Prairie
Sioux Falls Area: Blizzard Buster
Rapid City Area: Betty White-Out
Watertown Area: Snowmagator
Winner Area: Plowabunga
Yankton Area: 605 Polar Express

Learn more about the winners and see photos on the DOT website.