Watertown Public Opinion

Dakota Political Junkies

May 22, 2019
SDPB

In The Moment ... May 22, 2019 Show 581 Hour 2

Government transparency, high taxes, and former Senator Tom Daschle joins a cannabis investment company.

Dakota Political Junkies Roger Whittle and Jonathan Ellis join guest host Stephanie Rissler for this week's roundtable. 

SDPB

In The Moment ... May 8, 2019 Show 571 Hour 2

The Dakota Political Junkies discuss the debate over Initiated Measure 24's constitutionality and the Oglala Sioux Tribe's ban on Governor Kristi Noem coming to the Pine Ridge Reservation.

Former legislator and South Dakota Newspaper Hall of Famer Noel Hamiel and Watertown Public Opinion managing editor Roger Whittle are this week's panel.

Dakota Political Junkies

Apr 10, 2019
SDPB

In The Moment ... April 10, 2019 Show 553 Hour 2

Governor Kristi Noem was in Watertown Tuesday to talk about job development. While she was there she announced the reopening of the state's Emergency Command Center in anticipation of another winter storm.

Meanwile, Senator John Thune is working to battle those annoying robo-calls.

The Dakota Political Junkies discuss the issues. Roger Whittle joins from a snowy Watertown while Jon Hunter joins from a lightning-struck Madison. 

SDPB

In The Moment ... March 20, 2019 Show 539 Hour 2

Dakota Political Junkies Jon Hunter of the Madison Daily Leader and Roger Whittle of the Watertown Public Opinion get together for In The Moment's weekly politics roundtable.

They discuss Governor Kristi Noem's signings of Capitol carry and "In God We Trust" legislation along with last night's Augustana Boe Forum that featured Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein.

  Reporting on politics and public policy is supported by The Center for Western Studies at Augustana University

SDPB

In The Moment ... January 23, 2019 Show 500 Hour 2

The Dakota Political Junkies analyzed the South Dakota legislative session. From the lawsuit of a lobbyist to the civics education and concealed carry, we'll hit the highlights before this afternoon's budget address.

Today we were joined by Jonathan Ellis, with the Sioux Falls "Argus Leader" and Roger Whittle, managing editor of the Watertown "Public Opinion."

SDPB

In The Moment ... January 2, 2019 Show 486 Hour 2

The upcoming legislative session doesn't convene until next week but there's already news coming out of the Capitol.

Dakota Political Junkies Roger Whittle (Watertown Public Opinion) and Jonathan Ellis (Sioux Falls Argus Leader) talk about transparency in Pierre and they look back at some of the top stories of 2018.

SDPB

In The Moment ... November 21, 2018 Show 465 Hour 2

Dakota Political Junkies Seth Tupper and Roger Whittle join us for a look at the week's top political headlines. Today we discuss new Democratic leadership in the state legislature and South Dakota campaign finance laws.

SDPB

In The Moment ... August 22, 2018 Show 406 Hour 2

The South Dakota state Republican majority caucus asks lawmakers to sign a memo detailing expectations for the upcoming session. 

Joining In The Moment for insight is Roger Whittle, managing editor of the Watertown Public Opinion, an Jonathan Ellis, columnist and reporter for Argus Leader Media. 

 

SDPB

In The Moment ... August 1, 2018 Show 391 Hour 2

Each week, In The Moment gathers the week it is in politics. We then bring in our Dakota Political Junkies to provide their knowledge.

Today we welcome in Jonathan Ellis, Sioux Falls Argus Leader reporter. We also have the managing editor of the Watertown Public Opinion, Roger Whittle. 

SDPB

In The Moment ... July 11, 2018 Show 376 Hour 2

Each week, In The Moment gathers the week most relevant events in politics. We then bring in our Dakota Political Junkies to provide their knowledge.

Argus Leader watchdog government reporter, Dana Ferguson, and Watertown Public Opinion managing editor, Roger Whittle joined the show this week.

The Junkies convene every Wednesday at 12:06 p.m Central/11:06 a.m. Mountain on In The Moment. 

SDPB

In The Moment ... May 30, 2018 Show 347 Hour 2

One week from today, voters should know the winners of the primary races in South Dakota. Last night on SDPB-TV, GOP gubernatorial hopefuls Kristi Noem and Marty Jackley squared off in a televised debate. Joining us now for analysis are Dakota Political Junkies Roger Whittle,  Managing Editor, Watertown Public Opinion, and Jonathan Ellis, Reporter and Columnist, Argus Leader Media.

In The Moment ... May 9, 2018 Show 333 Hour 2

SDPB

In the Moment ... April 4, 2018 Show 308 Hour 2

Today we welcome Dakota Political Junkies Roger Whittle and J.J. Perry to the program.

Roger Whittle is Watertown Public Opinion managing editor. J.J. Perry is Executive Editor for Aberdeen American News.

SDPB

In The Moment ... November 1, 2017 Show 211 Hour 2

Roger Whittle with the Watertown Public Opinion and Seth Tupper from the Rapid City Journal join the show today to talk state politics.

Lee Strubinger

In The Moment ... May 3, 2017 Show 085 Hour 2

This week's Dakota Political Junkies features Roger Whittle, managing editor of the Watertown Public Opinion, and Seth Tupper, enterprise reporter for the Rapid City Journal. We talk about the 2018 gubernatorial primary options, the power of Pennington County Republicans, and whether or not a Sioux Falls mayor has the chance at statewide office.