Chris Laughery

In The Moment ... July 23, 2019 Show 621 Hour 2

Authors Stacey M. Jones and Jay Ruud will sign copies of their books tonight (Tuesday) at Full Circle Book Club in Sioux Falls.

Jones' debut novel Mr. Catherine is part thrill ride and part character study as a woman with a history of infidelity disappears into the fog during a morning run.

Ruud's book, his fourth in the Merlin Mystery Series, is Lost in the Quagmire.

Lori Walsh

In The Moment ... June 11, 2018 Show 355 Hour 1

Alisyn Camerota's novel Amanda Wakes Up features fierce and frazzled protagonist Amanda Gallo, who lands a coveted spot on a cable news morning show, only to have her journalistic moral compass battered by lazy producers, the blood-sport of Twitter, and the chaos of an increasingly surreal presidential campaign.

Amanda Wakes Up is now in paperback.

Cider Press Review

The Great Plains Writers' Tour and Writers' Symposium brings award-winning professional writers to the Mt. Marty College campus in Yankton, Wednesday, for a day of readings, discussions and class workshops. Poet Christine Stewart-Nunez, an associate professor in the English department at South Dakota State University joins Dakota Midday to discuss her work. She is one of the headliners at the Symposium.

Dakota Midday's Book Nerds Lori Walsh and Jacqueline Palfy Klemond sat down for a chat about the highlights of this summer's book releases. The Book Nerds also feature some listeners' current favorites.

Klemond is an editor for the Argus Leader alongside leading the  Argus Leader Life Book Club. She discusses how to continue a successful book club long term and summer reading trends.

Dakota Midday: Author Brian Evenson

Sep 30, 2015
Brian Evenson

The Department of English and Astrophil Press at the University of South Dakota present award winning author Brian Evenson as part of Astrophil Press' launch party.  Evenson will give a craft talk at 2:00 p.m. in the Al Neuharth Media Center Conference Room and provide a reading at 5:00 p.m.

"Deadwood Dead Men"

Jan 31, 2014

Bill Markley's novel "Deadwood Dead Men" is set in 1876 Deadwood. Legends like Calamity Jane, Seth Bullock, Charlie Utter, Sol Star and others come to life in the book, along with fictional characters, to recreate the mining camp's wild days. Jack Jones, a reporter for a Chicago newspaper, is assigned to write about the doings of Deadwood, an illegal gold camp that knows no law.

Summer Reading

May 31, 2013

Janet Parr, Library Associate at the Rapid City Public Library; Heather Stevenson, Reference Librarian at Siouxland Libraries; and Karen Wiechmann, Youth Services Librarian at Siouxland Libraries, joined Karl Gehrke on the Dakota Midday Book Club to discuss their picks for summer reading and what makes a good summer time read.

"Murder On The Missouri"

May 31, 2013

"Murder on the Missouri" is a coming of age novel written by John English who resides in Belle Fourche and Spearfish.  Known nationally for how-to writing, especially in the woodworking field, English's first novel takes place in the fictional town of Clinton, South Dakota, on the banks of the Missouri River.  English introduces readers to John Henry Higgins who discovers secrets of Clinton's past as he begins to relate to older members of the community of an adult level.

Author C.M. Wendelboe

Mar 29, 2013

C.M. Wendelboe is the author of the Spirit Road Mysteries series.  Wendelboe entered the law enforcement profession when he was discharged from the Marines as the Vietnam War was winding down.  In the 1970s he worked in South Dakota towns bordering three Indian reservations.  He revisits the Pine Ridge Reservation for research and recreation and has developed an awareness of Lakota people's culture, spirituality and perspectives on historical and contemporary issues that is reflected in the themes of his Spirit Road Mysteries.

Young Adult Fiction

Mar 29, 2013

Jasmine Rockwell, Children's and Youth Services Coordinator with the South Dakota State Library, and Maddie Meylor, a Vermillion teenager who reviews young adult fiction on her blog,, talked about trends in young adult fiction on the Dakota Midday Book Club.


Jan 16, 2013

In her latest mystery, author Lori Armstrong's character Mercy Gunderson is back in "Merciless."  A former Army sniper, Gunderson investigates a highly-trained military assassin who may have his sights set on Mercy as his next victim.  Anderson will sign copies of her new book Saturday at 2 p.m. at Books-A-Million in Rapid City and Tuesday, January 22, at 5 p.m. at the Sturgis Public Library.  Armstrong currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Mystery Writers of America.

Huron Author Steve Riedel

Dec 11, 2012

Steve Riedel's new book is "Dr. Joe and the Snowman."  The author has worked in the human services field all his adult life and is the associate director at Our Home in Huron.  Riedel drew on his experiences both professionally and personally in writing his follow-up to "A Homestead Holiday."  Riedel is signing books Tuesday in Pierre and speaking at the Cultural Heritage Center at 7 p.m.

"Through Dark Spaces"

Nov 30, 2012

Black Hills Writers Group president Karen Hall's new book is "Through Dark Spaces," her second Hannah Morrison mystery.  In "Through Dark Spaces," which takes place in Deadwood and Lead, Hannah has quit her job at the refinery and started her own consulting company, Morrison Engineering.  The book also introduces a new cast of interesting characters.  Hall also visits about the Black Hills Writers Group's new anthology, "Granite Island, Amber Sea: Writings from the Black Hills and Plains."

Writer Adrian Ludens

Oct 31, 2012

Adrian Ludens, he’s the author of the new book “Bedtime Stories for Carrion Beetles.” In this debut collection of dark short fiction, Adrian Ludens has revised nineteen of his favorite previously published stories. A horde of insects invade one unfortunate man's stomach and make it their home, a blind woman guards a cavern full of Civil War-era zombies, and a troubled teen digs up her father's corpse, hoping to get some closure.

Author Susan Power

Sep 28, 2012

Standing Rock Sioux author Susan Power has written several books including the 1995 novel, "The Grass Dancer," which received the 1995 PEN/Hemingway Award for Best First Fiction.  Her short fiction has been published in the Atlantic Monthly, Paris Review, Voice Literary Supplement, Ploughshares and Story.  She began her writing career by earning an MFA from the Iowa Writer's Workshop.  Power currently teaches at Hamline University in St. Paul, Minnesota.