Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

2024 SDHSAA State Boys Basketball, Friday Recap

Josh Jurgens
South Dakota Public Broadcasting

South Dakota state boys basketball action continued on Friday with the semifinal and consolation semifinal rounds. Here's a recap from Friday and the schedule for Saturday.


Class AA


No. 1 Mitchell 72 No. 5 Sioux Falls Washington 51

Top seeded Mitchell advanced to the championship game by defeating Washington 72-51 on Friday night. The Kernels shot 53% from the field, which included an impressive 47% from three-point range. Mitchell was led by Gavin Soukup, who scored 22-points and had eight assists. Markus Talley also put up 21-points. Washington’s top scorer in the contest was Jhace Woods, who finished with 16-points.

No. 3 Brandon Valley 61 No. 2 Harrisburg 52

Brandon Valley defeated Harrisburg 61-52 on Friday in the semifinal round. Josh Olthoff had a big day for the Lynx, scoring 20-points and snagging seven rebounds. Aiden Zerr also scored 15-points and Heyde Anderson contributed 14-points for Brandon Valley. Harrisburg was led by Jacoby Mehrman, who finished with 15-points.

Consolation Semifinals

No. 8 Sioux Falls Jefferson 60 No. 4 Sioux Falls Roosevelt 38

Jefferson will play Saturday for the consolation championship after defeating Roosevelt 60-38 on Friday afternoon. The Cavaliers were led by Daniel Jones, who scored 12-points. Damaris Fields and Dawson Sechser each tallied 11-points as well for Jefferson. The Cavaliers shot 43% from the field. Naser Ismail led the scoring for Roosevelt with 12-points in the contest.

No. 7 Watertown 54 No. 6 Huron 51

Watertown squeaked past Huron on Friday 54-51 to advance to the consolation championship. A last second three by the Tigers didn’t beat the buzzer, and the Arrows were victorious. Dylon Rawdon scored 20-points to lead Huron, ten of which came from the charity stripe. Huron was led by Blake Ellwein, who recorded 27-points and nine rebounds in the loss.

Class A


No. 1 Sioux Falls Christian 50 No. 5 Dakota Valley 48

Sioux Falls Christian survived a near upset against Dakota Valley on Friday 50-48 to advance to the state title game. At one-point, the Panthers trailed by eleven. Dakota Valley had a look from beyond the arc with two-seconds to play, but the bucket hit back iron, and the Chargers celebration began. Griffen Goodbary had 20-points and nine rebounds for Sioux Falls Christian. Dakota Valley was led by Jaxson Wingert, who scored 20-points and had eight boards in the loss.

No. 2 Hamlin 62 No. 6 Rapid City Christian 45

For the first time since 1983, Hamlin will play for a boys state basketball title. The Chargers defeated Rapid City Christian 62-45 in the semifinal round on Friday night. Hamlin shot 45% from the floor. Tyson Stevenson and Easton Neuendorf both led the scoring for the Chargers with 17-points. The Comets were led in scoring by Simon Kieffer, who dropped 17-points in the contest.

Consolation Semifinals

No. 4 Pine Ridge 79 No. 8 Vermillion 63

Pine Ridge bounced back on Friday with a 79-63 win over Vermillion. As a team, the Thorpes shot 46% from the floor and 40% from beyond the arc. They also were +8 in the rebound category. Jaylin Rouillard finished with 26-points for Pine Ridge, while Marvin Richard III also contributed 19 in the scoring column and grabbed 13-rebounds for the Thorpes. Trey Hansen led Vermillion with 20-points and 11 boards.

No. 3 Sioux Valley 67 No. 7 Groton Area 58

Sioux Valley came into Friday coming off a double overtime quarterfinal loss to Rapid City Christian. The Cossacks defeated Groton Area in the consolation semifinals 67-58. Alec Squires finished with 31-points and 12 rebounds to lead Sioux Valley. On the other side, Ryder Johnson scored 19-points and grabbed seven rebounds for the Tigers.

Class B


No. 5 Howard 48 No. 1 White River 42

Howard took down top seeded White River 48-42 in the semifinals on Friday night. Both teams shot 37% from the field. Howard won the rebound battle with a +14 differential. Carson Hinker led the scoring for Howard with 11-points. Taiden Hoyer, Luke Koepsell, and Kolt Koepsell all scored ten-points for Howard as well. Nicolas Marshall scored 20-points for White River in the contest.

No. 2 De Smet 40 No. 3 Castlewood 37

De Smet edged past Castlewood 40-37 on Friday night, and the Bulldogs, the three-time defending state champs, are returning to the ‘B’ title game. Tom Aughenbaugh led De Smet with 12-points. George Jense, who was the hero in the quarterfinal game, dropped 11-points in the contest. Castlewood’s leading scorer was Jamison Keszler, who finished with 14-points.

Consolation Semifinals

No. 4 Wessington Springs vs No. 8 Viborg-Hurley

Wessington Springs defeated Viborg-Hurley 52-39 on Friday afternoon in Aberdeen during the consolation semifinals. As a team, the Spartans shot 41% from the field in the contest. Parker Graff led Wessington Springs in scoring with 18-points. Blake Larson also contributed with 16-points for the Spartans in the win. Viborg-Hurley was led by Brady Schroedermeier, who scored 17-points. Nick Hanson also had 15-points for the Cougars and led the team in rebounds with nine.

No.7 Gregory 65 No. 6 Leola/Frederick Area 64

After suffering a heartbreaking loss to De Smet in the quarterfinals, Gregory bounced back to defeat Leola/Frederick Area 65-64 on Friday. As a team, the Gorillas shot 49%. Danie Mitchell and Cruz Klundt both dropped 18-points for Gregory. The Titans were led in scoring by Brayd Sumpton, who scored 18-points and grabbed four rebounds.

Saturday Schedule

Class AA
7th: No. 4 Sioux Falls Roosevelt vs No. 6 Huron – 12 pm CT
5th: No. 7 Watertown vs No. 8 Sioux Falls Jefferson – 1:45 pm CT
3rd: No. 2 Harrisburg vs No. 5 Sioux Falls Washington – 6 pm CT
Championship: No. 1 Mitchell vs No. 3 Brandon Valley – 7:45 pm CT

Class A
7th: No. 8 Vermillion vs No. 7 Groton Area – 12 pm MT
5th: No. 4 Pine Ridge vs No. 3 Sioux Valley – 1:45 pm MT
3rd: No. 5 Dakota Valley vs No. 6 Rapid City Christian – 6 pm MT
Championship: No. 1 Sioux Falls Christian vs No. 2 Hamlin – 7:45 pm MT

Class B
7th: No. 6 Leola/Frederick Area vs No. 8 Viborg-Hurley – 12 pm CT
5th: No. 4 Wessington Springs vs No. 6 Gregory – 1:45 pm CT
3rd: No. 1 White River vs No. 3 Castlewood – 6 pm CT
Championship: No. 2 De Smet vs No. 5 Howard – 7:45 pm CT

Nate Wek is currently the sports content producer and sports and rec beat reporter for South Dakota Public Broadcasting. He is a graduate of South Dakota State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Journalism Broadcasting and a minor in Leadership. From 2010-2013 Nate was the Director of Gameday Media for the Sioux Falls Storm (Indoor Football League) football team. He also spent 2012 and 2013 as the News and Sports Director of KSDJ Radio in Brookings, SD. Nate, his wife Sarah, and two kids Braxan and Jordy, live in Canton, SD.