Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Sports and Recreation

2020 Spirit of Su Award Recipients

2020 Spirit of Su award recipients

On Tuesday, the South Dakota High School Activities Association released the six recipients of the 2020 Spirit of Su award. These awards are traditionally presented at halftime of each state championship game.

The six individuals honored with the award this year are Cooper Cornemann (Yankton), Emma Osmundson (Sioux Falls Lincoln), Maxwell Nielson (Sioux Valley), Morgan Hammerbeck (Winner), Nicholas Sayler (White River), and Sydnie Schauer (Faith).

Since 1994, the Spirit of Su award has been a part of the state high school basketball championships in South Dakota. The award is given in joint effort from the SDHSAA, the South Dakota High School Basketball Coaches Association, and the ‘Visions of SuAnne’ Foundation.

The Spirit of Su award is given to one senior basketball player who ‘recognizes excellence in academics, athletics, leadership and community service.’

Sports and Recreation sports & recreationbasketball