South Dakota Secretary Named Tourism Director of the Year by Peers

Aug 28, 2014

South Dakota Secretary of Tourism Jim Hagen
Credit South Dakota Department of Tourism

South Dakota’s tourism secretary Jim Hagen has been named State Tourism Director of the Year by the U.S. Travel Association’s National Council of State Tourism Directors. The award was announced on Monday during the association’s educational seminar for tourism organizations in Louisville, Kentucky. Hagen was the first South Dakotan to receive the award since Susan Edwards in 1994. Hagen has served as South Daakota's Secretary of Tourism since his appointment by Governor Dennis Daugaard in 2011. The travel association's award is given to the professional whose leadership has led to the measurable improvement in a state's travel and tourism profile. Hagen joined Dakota Midday and discussed the honor and the latest marketing efforts from the South Dakota Department of Tourism.