Shannon County Votes To Change Name

Nov 5, 2014

Along with statewide races yesterday, Oglala Sioux Tribal members elected a new president. John Yellow Bird Steele defeated incumbent Bryan Brewer. And Shannon County residents voted to change the name of the southwest South Dakota county to Oglala Lakota County. The name change now must be approved by the state legislature. Rapid City attorney Charlie Abourezk, who helped organize the get out the vote effort in tribal communities, and SDPB's Charles Michael Ray joined Dakota Midday election results on the Pine Ridge Reservation yesterday.