Lawmakers Prep For 2013 Session

Dec 3, 2012

SD State Capitol
Credit Kealey Bultena / SDPB

Tuesday afternoon South Dakota’s Governor reveals his financial plans for the state’s next fiscal year. While lawmakers travel to Pierre for the official budget proposal, legislative leaders have their own agenda for the 2013 session.

Money is always a primary focus for South Dakota lawmakers, but legislators also find issues outside of funding that matter to people around the state.

Senate Majority Leader Russell Olson points to multiple summer studies lawmakers completed after they restored funding for the panels. Olson says results show recommendations for watershed, higher education and criminal justice reform.

"Those three studies alone are going to have a bushel basket full of legislation that we hope that our fellow legislators consider favorable, and I look for big changes in all three of those areas," Olson says.

Olson says he anticipates much of 2013’s discussions to revolve around economic development, health care and K-12 education.

Ahead of South Dakota Public Broadcasting’s live budget address, tune in to SDPB Radio for a special Dakota Midday. Host Karl Gehrke is live at the State Capitol in Pierre at 12 p.m. CT/11 a.m. MT. Following that broadcast, SDPB brings you to the House Chambers for the live budget proposal. The Governor speaks at 1 p.m. CT/12 p.m. MT.