Gov-Elect Noem Announces New Secretaries

Nov 29, 2018

Credit Lee Strubinger / SDPB

Governor-elect Kristi Noem is announcing new cabinet appointments that she will make upon taking office early next year.

Eight of the ten appointments carry over from the outgoing Governor Dennis Daugaard administration.

State economist Jim Terwilliger will serve as the new Secretary of Revenue. Craig Price, the superintendent of the South Dakota Highway Patrol, will serve as the new Secretary of Public Safety.

The Noem transition team also announced two interim-secretaries who will serve until a search for their positions is finished following the 2019 legislative session.

The Noem transition team has yet to announced secretaries for seven other cabinet positions… including secretaries of education and agriculture.

A press release from the transition says they’re conducting a targeted talent search for those positions.