Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

SD Farm Bureau reelects president at annual convention

South Dakota Farmers Union

South Dakota Farm Bureau members reelected Scott VanderWal as president of the organization.

This comes from a vote held during the SDFB 106th Annual Convention held in Sioux Falls.

This will be VanderWal’s 21st year as president of the organization.

VanderWal is joined by three returning board also reelected to their positions. Reid Jensen, Nick Ihnen, and Clay Conry will return to their state board positions.

During the convention, SDFB announced new chairs of their Young Farmers and Ranchers committee, naming Jay and Sarah Myers to the committee.

The committee then honored Lyle Nepodahl as the recipient of the Richard Kjerstad Friend of YF&R Award.

Evan Walton is an SDPB reporter based in Sioux Falls. Evan holds a Master’s in English Literature from Southern New Hampshire University and was honorably discharged from the United States Army in 2015, where he served for five years as an infantryman.