Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

2017 Governor’s Awards In The Arts Winners

Every two years, Arts South Dakota and the South Dakota Arts Council honor artists and organizations across the state whose work makes an impact on the communities they live in.

Winners of the 2017 Governor’s Awards in the Arts include Steve Babbitt, a professor of photography at Black Hills State University.

“That the state would feel that it’s a good idea to support the arts seems quite logical to me, it seems plain as day why we would support the arts seeing how big a part it plays in our existence,” says Babbitt.
Babbitt says the greatest honor for him is teaching his students.

Other winners include Ward Whitwam, a 93-year-old architect, Dakota artist Bryan Akipa, recipient of the 2017 South Dakota Living Indian Treasure award, Graham and Anna Marie Thatcher, the Mobridge City Council and Michael Pangburn.

All winners are set to be honored on February 15th in Pierre. Governor Daugaard is scheduled to present his State of the Arts address during the event.