Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

President approves disaster declaration for South Dakota

Oglala police road conditions.jpg
Oglala Sioux Tribe Department of Public Safety
Many rural roads were impassable following a pair of winter storms hit South Dakota in December 2022. This photo shows a freshly cleared path on the Pine Ridge Reservation on Dec. 23.

President Joe Biden has approved disaster assistance for South Dakota communities hit by winter storms in December.

This disaster declaration paves the way for federal funds to pay for recovery efforts in 16 counties: Bennett, Brookings, Clark, Day, Deuel, Hamlin, Jackson, Jones, Kingsbury, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Potter, Roberts, Stanley, Todd and Tripp counties.

FEMA will distribute money to state, tribal, and local governments.

A series of winter storms disrupted travel statewide and left some people stranded in their homes. The weather is blamed for several deaths on the Rosebud Reservation.

Gov. Kristi Noem requested a disaster declaration earlier this month.

Related Content