Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

South Dakota high school seniors recognized as Presidential Scholars

Two South Dakota high schoolers have been named U.S. Presidential Scholars, the Department of Education announcedthis week.

Evelyn Harr attends Rapid City Stevens High School, where she playedvarsity tennis.

Andrew Nguyen attends Jefferson High School in Sioux Falls. He previously served on the city’s youth advisory council.

The Presidential Scholars Program was createdin 1964 by President Lyndon B. Johnson. It recognizes at least two students, one boy and one girl, from each U.S. state and territory.

Candidates are chosen from students with the highest ACT and SAT scores, or nominated by their state education departments. Applicants are then selected based on academic, artistic and career-related accomplishments.

A total of 161 high school seniors across the country were recognized by the program this year.

Slater Dixon is a junior at Augustana University studying Government and Data Science. He was born in Sioux Falls and is based out of SDPB's Sioux Falls studio.