Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Sobriety checkpoints coming to many South Dakota counties in August

South Dakota Highway Patrol cruiser (file)
South Dakota Highway Patrol
South Dakota Highway Patrol cruiser (file)

The Department of Public Safety is scheduling 10 sobriety checkpoints across 12 South Dakota counties during the month of August.

The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people to not drink and drive, according to a press release from the department. The Highway Patrol conducts the checkpoints with the help of local law enforcement agencies.

Checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of Lincoln, Jerauld, Lyman, Hamlin, Brown, Moody, Minnehaha, Yankton, Pennington and Meade.

Authorities are also asking drivers to be mindful of the thousands of motorcyclists coming to South Dakota for the annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally.