Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Arts & Life

"Deadwood Dead Men"


Bill Markley's novel "Deadwood Dead Men" is set in 1876 Deadwood. Legends like Calamity Jane, Seth Bullock, Charlie Utter, Sol Star and others come to life in the book, along with fictional characters, to recreate the mining camp's wild days. Jack Jones, a reporter for a Chicago newspaper, is assigned to write about the doings of Deadwood, an illegal gold camp that knows no law. After the shocking murder of an acquaintance, Jones begins investigating an entire string of murders that begins with Wild Bill Hickok and leads Jack down a treacherous trail that has him wondering if he won't be next. Markley has previously written three books of nonfiction and numerous magazine articles. Markley discussed his first book of fiction on Dakota Midday Book Club.