South Dakota Hall of Fame

Lori Walsh

In The Moment ... July 14, 2017 Show 134 Hour 1

Matthew Curry plays JazzFest tonight in Sioux Falls. You can see him on the Main Stage at around 8:30. He's opening for Robert Cray. He's also opened for the Steve Miller Band, the Doobie Brothers and Peter Frampton. He joins us with band mate Mike Nellas for this week’s Moment in Sound.

As the South Dakota Hall of Fame inducts the class of 2017 this September, we welcome the inductees on In the Moment. Today we welcome Thomas Shortbull, president of Oglala Lakota College.

In The Moment ... June 27, 2017 Show 123 Hour 2

As more than half the state faces drought conditions, the impact reveals itself in often unexpected ways. We begin hour two of the program by welcoming South Dakota Secretary of Agriculture Mike Jaspers.

Since 1974, more than 200 South Dakotans have been inducted into the South Dakota Hall of Fame. Today we welcome 2017 Hall of Fame inductee Harvey Wollman. His life in public service to the state includes time as a state senator, president of the senate, Lt. Governor and Governor.

Personalities: Kyle Evans, a Company Cowboy

Jun 1, 2017
South Dakota Hall of Fame

Prior to his unfortunate death in 2001, Kyle Evans, a South Dakotan country music recording artist and entertainer, visited the Huron Arena in April of 1994 for an interview with local radio host, Chuck Anderson.

During his 20 years within the music industry, Evans traveled throughout the United States, playing in over 1,500 professional rodeo performances, the National Rodeo Finals in Las Vegas, Miss America Rodeo Pageants, and numerous other venues alongside Kitty Wells, Hank Thompson, Tex Ritter and many other notable country artists of the time.

Elizabeth "Betty" Meyer served as a key leader during South Dakota's revolution in access to breast cancer screenings and breast health care. She is part of the 2016 class of inductees into the South Dakota Hall of Fame.

Meyer joins Dakota Midday host Lori Walsh to talk about her career, how an introvert becomes a leader, and how an army of women changed the landscape of healthcare in South Dakota.

JoEllen Koerner is an author, a leader, and a South Dakota visionary. She is a 2016 inductee into the South Dakota Hall of Fame. Here she visits with Dakota Midday host Lori Walsh about life, story, and authentic presence.

10 South Dakotans Join Hall Of Fame

Aug 24, 2016

The South Dakota Hall of Fame is inducting 10 new members this year. South Dakotans who excel in their careers are chosen for recognition in the Hall of Fame.

Each year the South Dakota Hall of Fame reviews about 60 applications and then selects a handful of leaders from across the state.

Dakota Midday: SDHOF Inductee Dr. Richard Holm

Aug 24, 2016

Dr. Richard Holm, host of On Call with the Prairie Doc on SDPB-TV, is a 2016 inductee into the South Dakota Hall of Fame. He visited with Dakota Midday host Lori Walsh to discuss practicing medicine during the age of electronic medical records, a legacy of educating the public, and how to give your doctor permission to step away from protocols and see you as an individual human being. Holm is a Full Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine.

Every year a select group of South Dakotans are inducted into the official state Hall of Fame. Past inductees include George McGovern, Laura Ingalls Wilder, and Oscar Howe.

This year Bob Burns will join them for his work in political science and his work on the South Dakota State University Honors College. Burns talks on Dakota Midday about the honor, along with Don Barnett, who is on the Board of Director for the Hall of Fame.

Dr. John Barlow is a 2016 inductee to the South Dakota Hall of Fame. His work as a scientist, scholar and teacher helped distinguish him as a South Dakota leader who exemplifies a "culture of excellence."

Dr. Barlow joins Dakota Midday for a conversation about collaboration, inspiration, and the evolution of medical care in the state. Dr. Barlow is joined by Dr. Richard Gowen, Chair of the board of the South Dakota Hall of Fame.

Kenzie Wagner / SDPB

Some of the Women inductees into the South Dakota Hall of Fame are coming together to share stories and strategies.  The group hopes to find ways to better the lives of young people in the state, especially young women.

Eight South Dakota Hall of Fame inductees from around the state brainstormed ideas on how to promote women’s empowerment in today’s world.

Pat Lebrun, a 2013 Hall of Fame inductee, agrees that there are ways to promote leadership in young women but also stresses the importance of self-reliance.

South Dakota Hall of Fame (2015) inductee Rob Mudge joins Dakota Midday to discuss cultivating a culture of excellence.

Mudge is CEO of RPM & Associates. The manufacturing company was started in the basement of Rob and (his wife) Deb’s home and now has a global reach. We’ll talk about building a culture of excellence, the definition of integrity, and what South Dakota businesses can offer the world.

South Dakota Hall of Fame

Next week the South Dakota Hall of Fame inducts ten new members. Since 1974, the hall has honored and recognized individuals who have shaped the fabric and culture of the state. The chairman of the South Dakota Hall of Fame board, David Olson, says the honored individuals also demonstrate a level of excellence that inspire others in the state. Hall of Fame members include important historical figures along with individuals from government, business, agriculture, sports, medicine, arts, entertainment and other fields.