news

Dead End For Deep Hole In Spink County

Jun 22, 2016

Organizers of a project to test rocks deep underground in Spink County say they won’t pursue the plan any further. Researchers wanted to find out if it’s possible to drill a hole deep and straight enough to store nuclear waste inside. Proponents say nuclear waste isn’t involved in the project. Opponents worry about what will happen after the hole is dug.

Waiting To Mow Ditches Helps Protect Pheasant Nests

Jun 20, 2016

Governor Dennis Daugaard is reminding East River landowners to wait to mow ditches along the state highway system until July 10th. He says holding off on mowing is helpful for the pheasant population.

7 pm CT/6 pm MT Newscast

Jun 17, 2016

6 pm CT/5 pm MT Newscast

Jun 17, 2016

5 pm CT/4 pm MT NEwscast

Jun 17, 2016

4 pm CT/3 pm MT Newscast

Jun 17, 2016

Native Women's Group Honors WWII Lakota Pilot

Jun 17, 2016
Photo by Eileen Briggs

A Lakota elder who is the only known Native American military pilot to serve in World War Two has been honored by a national Native American Women’s group. We attended the ceremony to ask Native women what makes Ola “Millie” Rexroat  a role model in her community.

Traditional Lakota singers offer an honoring song as 100 Native women and guests gather at Black Hills State University to acknowledge World War Two veteran Millie Rexroat.

Pages