Dakota Midday: Images Of The Past / Mead Building

Dec 5, 2016

The current home of Yankton's Cultural Education Center opened in 1909 as the women's receiving hospital at what was known at the time as the Dakota Hospital for the Insane. The building now bears the name of the hospital superintendent who had it built, Dr. Leonard Mead. Laura Beall of Yankton joins Dakota Midday for this week's Images of the Past feature as we explore the intersection between mental health and architecture.

The Mead Building.